Story Index   Janu Joker Re Ga Ma

<<Previous   Next>>

Similar sounds of Indian and western music

Indians have revered the art of music since ancient times. From Tansen to Ravi Shankar we have an established tradition of excellent musicians. The Indian classical music has seven basic notes or swar organised as an octave.These are sa, re, ga, ma, pa, dha, ni, sa. This ascending order of musical notes is called aaroh. The descending order – sa, ni, dha, pa, ma, ga, re, sa,is called avroh.Along with these basic notes, five other sharp and flat semi-tones are also used in the music that is commonly played. This set of notes is called the Sargam.The swar are related to each other on the basis of . The frequency of eighth basic note is always twice the frequency of the first one. The entire set of octaves is built on such relations. Let’s take the example of a flute to understand this relationship. A flute has six holes. Now, if you close all six holes and blow air, you produce the musical note: sa. As you open the holes one by one from bottom, you get the sound of six other notes: re, ga, ma, pa, dha, ni. When all the holes are closed again and you blow harder, you get the eighth musical note the higher pitched sa, which has double the frequency of the earlier sa.In western music we have a similar set of musical notes in ascending and descending order. It is do, re, mi, fa, so, la, ti, do & do ti, la, so, fa, mi, re, do.These are the Solfa or swar of western music. The scale for these eight notes is written as C D E F G A B C. Now, that you have a basic knowledge of music, go ahead and explore more. Who knows, someday you may join the big names in the field. But, always remember - learning music requires lots of hard-work and patience.

Web references :

Swar (Swara) - Notes of the Indian Scale.
The details of Raag, Swar etc in Hindutani Clacssical Music
Indian Music Theory